About UW Credit Union » UW Credit Union Governance

UW Credit Union Governance

Contact the President of UW Credit Union

UW Credit Union President
P.O. Box 44963
Madison, WI 53744-4963

Executive Management

  • Paul J. Kundert
    President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Brad D. McClain
    Chief Financial Officer
  • Mike A. Long
    Chief Credit Officer
  • Lee A. Wiersma
    Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Rob A. Van Nevel
    Chief Member Solutions Officer
  • Lisa C. Girdharry
    Chief Marketing Officer
  • Jon D. Bundy
    Chief Legal Officer

Board of Directors

  • Yvonne M. Evers, Chair
  • Marion F. Brown, Vice Chair
  • Ernest T. Hanson, Treasurer
  • Steven W. Rick, Secretary
  • Shenita Brokenburr
  • Frank A. Humphrey
  • Phyllis M. King
  • Jeffrey S. Russell
  • Kelly C. Wilson

Director Emeritus

  • Phillip J. Hellmuth
  • Ann A. Hoyt
  • James M. Johannes
  • Tad B. Pinkerton
UW Credit Union Board Chair
P.O. Box 44963
Madison, WI

UW Credit Union is a member owned cooperative business organization, governed by a nine member Board of Directors. The Board is comprised of active members of the Credit Union who are selected by the membership through a democratic election process. Each member of the credit union that meets eligibility requirements specified by the bylaws is permitted to vote in the annual election process. All members are given one vote in elections without preference to the amount of funds they have on deposit with the Credit Union.

The Board of Directors retains the Credit Union President who is the Chief Executive Officer and is in active charge of managing the Credit Union's operations. The Board of Directors is legally responsible by statute, Articles of Incorporation, and Bylaws for overall direction of the affairs and the performance of UW Credit Union. They carry out this responsibility by establishing guiding policy and monitoring the performance of management within the framework of these policies. The Board meets monthly to carry out its duties. Additionally, standing committees comprised of Board Members and other active members appointed by the Board regularly meet to support the formulation and monitoring of board policy.

The Audit Committee of the Board of Directors is comprised of one member of the Board of Directors, in addition to four other active members of the Credit Union. They meet periodically with management and internal and external auditors to review the quality of financial reporting, compliance with internal accounting controls, and the nature, extent, timing and results of audits and examinations. In addition, they recommend the selection of an independent certified public accounting firm. Each year an independent certified public accounting firm is retained to audit the financial statements of the Credit Union in accordance with generally accepted auditing standards. In performing their work, the auditors have free and independent access to the Audit Committee.

The Credit Union is a state chartered, federally insured financial institution. The State of Wisconsin Department of Financial Institution Office of Credit Unions conducts periodic examinations of the Credit Union. These examinations verify compliance with regulatory statutes and capital requirements and confirm that assets are being safeguarded. The National Credit Union Administration, a federal agency, also participates in periodic examinations to assure the safety and soundness of the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Related Links: UW Credit Union Bylaws | Report to Members



Search Common Questions
Contact Us
Local 608-232-5000
Toll Free 800-533-6773
UW Credit Union's Routing Number: 2759-7907-6
Your best interest always come first.SM
Copyright © 2017 UW Credit Union. All rights reserved.
UW Credit Union
pref 3500 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53744-4963 43.075532 -89.448226
UW Credit Union, postal PO Box 44963, Madison, WI 53744-4963
43.075532 -89.448226